The Harris Tweed Project

The Isle of Harris has a long history of creating beautiful things, always made with skill, craft and care.

A special cloth, woven on the looms of local weavers, has paved the way for the work we do at the distillery today, setting the high standards of quality and provenance required of anything that bears our island's name.

The world knows this special textile as Harris Tweed, the only fabric in the world which is protected by its own Act of Parliament. This unique set of laws ensures that ever piece is made from pure new wool, dyed and spun here in the islands and woven by hand at the homes of weavers across the Outer Hebrides, and nowhere else.

Over the coming months we'll be exploring the history, tradition and techniques behind Harris Tweed, meeting many of the people who bring this wonderful cloth into the world.

We're also inviting the young people from across the Outer Hebrides to join us in creating a very special Harris Tweed of our own, the Isle of Harris Distillery Tweed to be launched in 2019.

As part of an island-wide collaboration with local schools, we've joined with the Harris Tweed Authority the industry governing body and Harris Tweed Hebrides the foremost Harris Tweed producer in the UK, to launch a special competition to design the final pattern.

Special prizes will be awarded to the best entries across four age categories, with a final overall winner going on to spend time with the team at Harris Tweed Hebrides to bring their final creation to life for us in early 2019.

Please join us here and across social media as The Harris Tweed Project progresses and we share updates on the entries, workshops and other related happenings along the way.

If you're a teacher or pupil in the Outer Hebrides interested in participating please contact your Head Teacher who will have more details on how to get involved or email for more.




P1-3 Category

Ethan Macaulay (P3) - Leverhume Memorial School

P4-7 Category

Kate Macleod (P6) - Sgoil Nan Loch

Abby Burley (P7) - Laxdale Primary

S1-3 Category

Neil Morrison (S3) - Sir E Scott School

Scott Murray (S3) - Sir E Scott School